Posted in Six word story challenges

Six Word Story Challenge: Youth

A lighter subject this time! 🙂 Plus a couple of quotes for inspiration:

Youth is wasted on the young.
– George Bernard Shaw

Youth is easily deceived because it is quick to hope.
– Aristotle

Forty is the old age of youth; fifty the youth of old age.
– Victor Hugo

Youth is when you’re allowed to stay up late on New Year’s Eve. Middle age is when you’re forced to.
– Bill Vaughan

What Youth deemed crystal, Age finds out was dew.
– Robert Browning

In youth we run into difficulties. In old age difficulties run into us.
– Beverly Sills

130925jeugd2

Youth is the time of life when one is young, but often means the time between childhood and adulthood (maturity). Definitions of the specific age range that constitutes youth vary. An individual’s actual maturity may not correspond to their chronological age, as immature individuals can exist at all ages. Youth is also defined as the appearance, freshness, vigor, spirit, etc., characteristic of one who is young.

The challenge for you:

Write a story about YOUTH in just six words. Let a photo or image inspire you to write a story. Or first write the story, and then make or search for a picture to go with it.

Here’s a Six Word Story by Ernest Hemingway.

SixWordStory

Such an impact and unseen images in only six words…

Publish your Six Word Story on your own website/blog and paste the link to that post in a comment to this one here at Figments. I will include your contribution in this post, forming a list of stories.

Will you join me? Will you? Say you do. 🙂 And share the challenge news!

I look forward to your stories.
Marion

vulpen

READ THE STORIES ABOUT YOUTH OF:

Who’s next? :)

I will post a new Six Word Story Challenge every other week on Wednesday – so the next one on October 9. Doe je liever mee in het Nederlands, ga dan naar Verbeeld een Verhaal in Zes Woorden: Jeugd.

Older stories:
130226 – Poverty
130313 – Spring
130327 – Writing

130410 – Light
130424 – Music
130515 – Transport
130529 – Pets
130612 – Regret
130616 – Inspiration
130703 – Commercials
130814 – Vacation
130829 – Memory
130911 – Terrorism

6WSC

Author:

feelgood writer | avid reader | RPGamer | caretaker of lads and cats | no lady, but all woman

17 thoughts on “Six Word Story Challenge: Youth

      1. Don’t you worry, I had already found it and added it above.

        Such a lovely photo, Hugmamma! And you have found true youth stories in quotes. I adore the “Young maiden chases…young man runs.” one haha.

        Like

        1. Aaahhh…the good old days. When beauty and youth reigned supreme. These days…settling in with old age and all that accompanies it is…is just fine. Is there a choice?

          Like

    1. That story of yours gave me goose bumps, Col. I do hope that if the spirits are indeed among us, they have a happy life and don’t long to be part of the living.
      Your two other stories are also full of thoughts and images. Great contributions, thank you!

      Like

  1. I have utterly fallen down on the job with the 6 Word Story Challenge. I keep forgetting to do my weeks. I think I’ll just come here and enjoy yours, instead.
    Youth
    Ready for my second childhood. Wheeee!

    Like

    1. Are you sure about this, Marian? In that case I will cancel the sentence about your alternate challenge. Please let me know.

      And your story made me grin, especially the Wheeee haha. I can almost see you sliding into your second childhood 😀

      Like

        1. That’s alright, don’t worry. Your life is busy enough as it is 😉
          I’m in and out of being ill for weeks now. Came home from work early this afternoon and went straight to bed. My sons ordered Chinese food and we had dinner together. That did cheer me up 🙂 Stupid asthma and cold.

          Like

Please, share your thoughts:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.